How to backup and erase data from your device

If your phone is in working condition, it's a good idea to backup and then erase all data before you donate it to The Reconnect Project. If your phone isn't working, or you can't get the backup/erase to function, that's OK! We've got techxperts who can sort it all out, and for a small fee, we can even recover the data for you.

How to erase all data from iPhones:

If your phone is signed into iCloud, manually deleting photos/contacts/calendar/documents from your phone will also delete them from the iCloud.

  1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch
  2. Back up your device
  3. Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store:
  • If you're using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings > [your name]. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off.
  • If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap Settings > iCloud > Sign Out. Tap Sign Out again, then tap Delete from My [device] and enter your Apple ID password. Then go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > Apple ID > Sign Out.
  1. Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. If you turned on Find My iPhone, you might need to enter your Apple ID and password.
  2. If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap Erase [device].

To find out how to back up your iPhone or iPad, see the Apple website.

 

How to erase all data from Android devices:

First you'll need to remove the Factory Reset Protection:

  1. This step will differ slightly depending on your phone. On a Samsung Galaxy, go to Settings > Lock screen > Screen lock type and choose None. On a Huawei phone, go to Settings > Security & privacy > Screen lock & passwords > Disable lock screen password. On a Google Pixelphone, go to Settings > Security > Screen lock and choose None.
  2. The next thing you must do is remove your Google account. On a Samsung Galaxy, go to Settings > Accounts and backup > Accounts and tap on Google, then tap Remove account. On a Huawei phone go to Settings > Users & accounts > Google and tap Remove at the bottom. On a Google Pixel, go to Settings > Accounts > Google and tap Remove account. If you have more than one Google account registered with your phone, then make sure you remove all of them.
  3. If you have a Samsung Galaxy, then you should remove your Samsung account, too. To do this, go to Settings > Biometrics and security > Find My Mobile. Then enter your password, tap on your account at the top, and select More > Remove account.

Once your Google and Samsung accounts have been removed, you can proceed with the factory reset.  Make sure that you have anything you want to keep backed up before you do this because it will wipe everything. The steps are similar for most Android devices, but some manufacturers like to be different. To perform a factory reset:

  • On a Samsung Galaxy, go to Settings > General Management > Reset > Factory data reset and then tap Reset device. On a Huawei phone, go to Settings > System > Reset > Factory data reset and then tap Reset Phone. On a Google Pixel, it’s Settings > System > Advanced > Reset options > Erase all data (factory reset) and then tap Reset phone.